Alice Soon

My Literary Life & other obsessions…

My 2015 in BOOKS!

Leave a comment

All right, peeps! It’s that time of year again, where we reflect upon the books we’ve read this year…And see if we managed to reach our GOODREADS challenge! 🙂

I just barely made it to 50 books and would’ve liked it to be 52, but my travel schedule has been a little insane this year. (And unlike popular myth, being at airports waiting in line or trapped inside an airplane for 5 hours is NOT actually conducive to reading at all!)

Here’s a quick snapshot of the books I read this year:
2015 ALL
(I’m missing 2 books ‘cuz they wouldn’t fit nicely at the bottom. They were “Out of Africa” & “Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore“.
2015 GR

BEST BOOK I READ IN 2015:
A Brief History of Seven Killings” by Marlon James
I read this before James won the MAN BOOKER PRIZE (I’d like to think I was ahead of the curve :-P) and it should be required reading for every writer.
It’s a virtuoso of writing – the way James is able to weave such a complex political, social, personal narratives into each of the characters is truly stunning.
It’s a very long book, but well worth it!

OTHER RECOMMENDED BOOKS THAT WERE VERY GOOD:
– “The Most Dangerous Book” by Kevin Birmingham about the legal battle to get ULYSSES published. Also, a great bio on the legendary writer himself, James Joyce. I learned a lot from this book and Joyce’s life really inspired me as a writer. Like, the dude kept writing even when he was broke, freezing and going blind!!! It makes you question your own dedication as a writer. What are YOU willing to do to write at all costs???

– “The Lord of the Flies” by William Golding – A classic novel that will leave you feeling very disturbed and thinking about its’ themes even weeks after you’ve finished the book. That’s what every good piece of literature should do! Leave you questioning its themes and make you feel uncomfortable.

– “Far from the Madding Crowd” by Thomas Hardy – Another classic novel that reads like a modern day novel. I picked up this book after seeing the movie and it’s just wonderful! Hardy is a great novelist.

– “Curious” by Ian Leslie about the importance of curiosity (especially in raising our children) and the dangerous delusion of the GOOGLING age and easy access to mass data & information. And hey, here’s a cool quote poster I made when I visited the Boston library this year! (Photo credit to my friend, Stephanie C.)

Photo by: Alice Soon & Stephanie C.

Photo by: Alice Soon & Stephanie C.

Here’s to a great 2016 y’all! May your heads and hearts be filled with wondrous words this coming year.
Eat Sleep Read

Leave a Reply

