Alice Soon

My Literary Life & other obsessions…

MY 2014 YEAR IN BOOKS!

Leave a comment

As always, another year has gone by and I usually like to reminisce about the books I’ve read. In 2014, I had to revise my reading goal down to 40 books (because I’ve been a little busy & unable to reach my usual goal of 1 book per week), but here are the highlights:

BEST OF THE YEAR/MY FAVORITES:

• “As I Lay Dying” – William Faulkner – So exceptional, I’ve added this book to my ALL-TIME FAVORITE BOOKS EVER LIST
• “The Interpreter of Maladies” – Jhumpa Lahiri – Also exceptional, mostly in the way she structures her short stories. It’s masterful.
2014v3
VERY GOOD/HIGHLY RECOMMENDED:
• “The Blazing World” – Siri Hustvedt
• “Animal Farm” – George Orwell
• “The War of Art” – Steven Pressfield
• “Euphoria” – Lily King
• “A Single Man” – Christopher Isherwood

DISAPPOINTING/OVERHYPED:
• “The Luminaries” – Eleanor Catton

There you go, my quick & dirty list!
Next year, my goal in 2015 will be to read 42 books (which is still almost double Mark Zuckerberg’s New Year’s Resolution to read 26 books. Hahaha!) 😛

HAPPY READING!

Leave a Reply

